Manjri Stud         Usha stud Farm
Bangalore |  Mysore |  Mumbai |  Pune |  Hyderabad |  Kolkata |  Delhi  
Indian Classics |  Profiles  |  Fixtures |  Video |  Archives |  Racing Fantasy |  Public Pulse |  In & Around |  Specials |  International |  Home  
Review    Send comment   Send E-mail   Print the page

Sir Cecil wins Mysore Guineas in common canter

  September 27 , 2018

Padmanabhan trained Sir Cecil recorded his sixth straight win by slamming the opposition in the Gr 3 Jayachamaraja Wadiyar Golf Cup Mysore 2000 Guineas, the second classic of the season on Thursday. The unbeaten champion who is headed for greater glory and rated as the best three-year-old in the country made light of the fact that he had to make do without the aid of a pace-maker by taking control of the proceedings from the word `go` to win in amazing fashion.

Just three runners were bold enough to face Sir Cecil. Jockey Trevor Patel took Sir Cecil on a start to finish mission and the progeny of Win Legend dictated terms and had the others off their bridle by the final bend and strode majestically to win by a margin of 13.5 lengths in an excellent timing of one minute 34.1 seconds without having to be extended. Secretive Force who chased in vain took the second position ahead of Winning Heart who was cleverly ridden to get the third position narrowly from Teodoro. Sir Cecil will next race in the Mysore Derby.

Satish Narredu trained Mr Handsome pulled off a narrow win over favourite Velocidad in the 2000 metres Justice Medappa Memorial Cup, a race for horses rated 40 to 65. There was a cluster of horses battling it out in the final furlong but Velocidad got the better of them to surge ahead. In the meanwhile, Suraj Narredu brought Mr Handsome from way off the pace with a powerful effort. The two fought for a while with Mr Handsome snatching the verdict in the closing moments of the race.

Suraj Narredu drove out Surf Romance to win the 1400 metres Margrove Estate Trophy (Div I), a race for horses rated 40 to 65 thanks to some inept handling of Glittering Gold by apprentice jockey Chetan Gowda. Chetan failed to offer enough assistance to Glittering Gold and his lackadaisical effort saw Surf Romance pull off what would have been a difficult one. Noah`s Ark was third. There was a Stewards enquiry into the running of the race and on the recommendation of the Stipes, the Stewards decided to treat Glittering Gold as a non-starter and all bets made on Glittering Gold were ordered to be refunded. It was an interesting and unique decision, but it may open a Pandora`s box. There could be a hue and cry each time the public think that a favourite has been pulled and demand for declaring such horses as non-runners could become a regular occurrence. The intention behind the decision may be good but the provision can also be misused.

When jockey Srinath goes all out on his horses, the kind of response that he gets from his horses is amazing. His aggressive effort on Idealist saw the lesser fancied runner get the better of front-running favourite Ultimate Magic in the closing strides of the lower division of the Margrove Estate Trophy. Masada was a well-beaten third.

Srinath drove out favourite Andermatt to a resolute win in the 1200 metres Fleet Indian Plate (Div I), a race for horses in the lowest category. Order Oder made a runaway attempt and had a good cushion going into the final furlong. However, Andermatt, under a forceful ride, covered the leeway swiftly and in fact was getting stronger at the finish. Durer was faraway third. Monnappa trained High Response came up with a late bid to edge past Amazing Beauty and Jamais U to land the spoils in the lower division of the race.

Favourite Dare Don from the stables of trainer Vishal Yadav had no problem in winning the 1100 metres Lalithamhal Plate, a race for horses rated 20 to 45 with a start to finish effort. Point ran on late to take the second position ahead of Good Earth.


High Response (Arshad Alam up) winner of the Fleet Indian Plate (Div-II)

Andermatt (Y S Srinath up) winner of the Fleet Indian Plate (Div-I)

Surf Romance (Suraj Narredu up) winner of the Margrove Estate Trophy (Div-I)

Mr Handsome (Suraj Narredu up) winner of the Justice P.Medapa Memorial Trophy

Sir Cecil (Trevor Patel up) winner of the Jayachamaraja Wadiyar Golf Club Mysore 2000 Guineas 2018 (Gr.3)

Idealist (Y S Srinath up) winner of the Margrove Estate Trophy (Div-II)

Dare The Don (Santosh Kumar up) winner of the Lalithamahal Plate

  Post your comments   E-mail   Print
Total Comments : 0       Be first to add comments to this article !!
Poonawalla Stud Farms - India's leading Thoroughbred Stud Farm
Next Race day on February 26, 2020 Mumbai Races

Live Results - Kolkata Races (February 25, 2020)

Live Results - Delhi Races (February 25, 2020)
Hazara Stud Farm
The Radiant Bloodstock Private Ltd
Glory of dancer
Disclaimer: The views expressed in Reviews and Analysis depict the personal perspective of the authors only. The website does not subscribe to or endorse any of the same and is not responsible for adverse consequences. Every effort is made to provide accurate information, we are not responsible for any discrepancies that are beyond our control.
© 2008 Racing Pulse. All Rights Reserved. A Racingpulse Holdings Venture