Manjri Stud         Usha stud Farm
Bangalore |  Mysore |  Mumbai |  Pune |  Hyderabad |  Kolkata |  Delhi  
Indian Classics |  Profiles  |  Fixtures |  Video |  Archives |  Racing Fantasy |  Public Pulse |  In & Around |  Specials |  International |  Home  
Review    Send comment   Send E-mail   Print the page

Be Sure lands the spoils in the fourth attempt

By: Tippu Sultan   October 7 , 2018

After three frustratingly close second finish efforts, Satheesh trained Be Sure landed the spoils in the 1800 metres Army Cup, a race for horses rated 42 to 62, the feature event of Sunday`s Hyderabad races. Jockey Nakhat Singh was alert to the task, improving all the time during the race and taking charge on turning for home and then storming beyond the reach of the rest in the final furlong.

Be Sure was backed to the exclusion of the rest as the punters were confident that the progeny of Bushranger would not suffer any hiccup this time out. Though Be Sure was squeezed out in the early part of the race, Nakhat Singh was aggressive on the horse and was in a position to dictate the terms inside the final two furlongs. Be Sure shot ahead of the front-running Kalinda and bounced clear in the final furlong to win by a margin of over three lengths. Exclusive Symbol occupied the second position ahead of Sunday Carnival. On The Fire ran below expectations.

Laxman Singh trained Mozambique was widely expected to record an encore in the 1200 metres K Srinivas Reddy Memorial Cup, a race for horses rated 42 to 62. Titus also had credentials though the last run was an aberration. He had on an earlier occasion beaten Exclusivenorthwind who had subsequently won twice. The subtle indication that the connections were serious about his prospects this time out was indicated by the odds in the ring. Mozambique in her customary front-running tactics led the field by lengths but by the final furlong, she looked vulnerable as Titus who was chasing her was inching closer. Jockey Akshay Kumar was able to drive out the second favourite to measure the front-runner in the final furlong. Titus stormed ahead after sailing past the favourite and won with a great deal of ease. Ashwa Bahula ran on to finish third.

Jockey Akshay Kumar who is the flavour of all sections of the racing fraternity for the consistency with which he has been winning races was astride a strong favourite New State in the 1200 metres Red Surprise Plate, a race for horses rated 26 to 46. New State received one-sided support in the betting ring. The trust was not misplaced. Lord Gift led by lengths into the final furlong but once New State was alighted to the task, the progeny of Ravel came home with a big rush, overhauled the front-runner with ease and stretched ahead for a comfortable win. Take A Bow rallied late to take the second place ahead of Lord Gift.

Palsy Walsy who was neglected in the betting ring, being quoted at odds of 20 to 1, brought off a big upset in the 1200 metres Suryapet Plate, a race for horses rated 26 to 46. Jockey Deepak Singh took the Netto trainee on a start to finish mission and the long shot stayed put there comfortably despite an all-out chase by jockey Akshay Kumar on favourite Tokyo Jam. Max held off Promiseofhappiness to take the third position.

Laxman Singh trained Sun Flower swamped the opposition in the 1400 metres Adilabad Plate, a race for horses rated up to 30. Jockey Tanwar took the fancied runner on a start to finish mission and the progeny of Multidimensional stretched away for a facile win over favourite Adoria who was hard-pressed to bridge the leeway and had to settle for the second place. Adamant And Rising showed slight improvement when finishing third.

Hilton Sequeira trained One One One who had a forward run last time out, made it a one-horse race in the 1200 metres Shamshabad Plate (Div I), a race for horses rated up to 30. Jockey Akshay Kumar pushed One One One to take over the running within the first furlong and the progeny of Abbeyside kept on expanding the lead in the straight to win by a widening margin of five lengths over Air Salute who was in the futile chase. Moka was third. Leo D`Silva trained Ultimate Risk scored an upset in Division II of the race. Red Bullet attempted runaway tactics but slowed down in the final furlong. Ultimate Risk along with favourite Reach the Heights and Arohi charged home and finished in the order mentioned with a short head each separating these horses which placed in the order mentioned. Another long shot from Leo D`Silva who once again had the services of jockey Umesh brought off a big upset in Division III of the race. All That Jazz who was struggling for speed going into the final furlong even as Escalating Striker made a start to finish bid, suddenly found wings in the closing stages of the race and overhauled the front-runner and won well. Running Fire also got momentum, in the end, to displace the long-time leader to get the runner-up berth. Favourite Red Striker was stranded at the gates.


One One One (Akshay Kumar up) winner of the Shamshabad Plate (Div-I)

New State (Akshay Kumar up) winner of the Red Surprise Plate

All That Jazz (C Umesh up) winner of the Shamshabad Plate (Div-III)

Titus (Akshay Kumar up) winner of the K Srinivas Reddy Memorial Cup

Ultimate Risk (C Umesh up) winner of the Shamshabad Plate (Div-II)

Be Sure (Nakhat Singh up) winner of the Army Cup

Palsy Walsy (Deepak Singh up) winner of the Suryapet Plate

Sunflower (S S Tanwar up) winner of the Adilabad Plate

  Post your comments   E-mail   Print
Total Comments : 0       Be first to add comments to this article !!
Poonawalla Stud Farms - India's leading Thoroughbred Stud Farm
Next Race day on February 26, 2020 Mumbai Races

Live Results - Kolkata Races (February 25, 2020)

Live Results - Delhi Races (February 25, 2020)
Hazara Stud Farm
The Radiant Bloodstock Private Ltd
Glory of dancer
Disclaimer: The views expressed in Reviews and Analysis depict the personal perspective of the authors only. The website does not subscribe to or endorse any of the same and is not responsible for adverse consequences. Every effort is made to provide accurate information, we are not responsible for any discrepancies that are beyond our control.
© 2008 Racing Pulse. All Rights Reserved. A Racingpulse Holdings Venture