Manjri Stud         Usha stud Farm
Bangalore |  Mysore |  Mumbai |  Pune |  Hyderabad |  Kolkata |  Delhi  
Indian Classics |  Profiles  |  Fixtures |  Video |  Archives |  Racing Fantasy |  Public Pulse |  In & Around |  Specials |  International |  Home  
Review    Send comment   Send E-mail   Print the page

Preciosa wins a thriller in concluding day’s feature

By: Tippu Sultan   October 29 , 2018

Donald Netto trained Preciosa built on her forward run and held off a host of horses to clinch the 1200 metres Raja Pratapa Rudra Memorial Cup, a race for horses rated 74 and above, the concluding day`s feature of the Hyderabad Monsoon on Monday. Hilton Sequeira confirmed his emerging status as a leading light of the local circuit by winning the trainers` championship for the first time while Akshay Kumar who won the jockeys` championship stakes for the third time in a row, created a new record of booting home 51 winners during the season.

Jockey Kiran Naidu took Preciosa on a start to finish mission and built up a good cushion in the stretch. Moon Dancer initially challenged before fading out. Closer home, Preciosa was in danger of being overhauled as Exclusive Wind and Fashion Hight finished with a rush but the front-runner managed to put his neck in front at the finish to land the spoils at nourishing odds. Moondancer is a pale shadow of the champion that he was last winter season and finished in the ruck.

Donald Netto trained Agni became the first winner of the race for two-year-olds, the 1100 metres Dodla Pratap Chander Reddy Memorial Million. Agni who is by Burden of Proof out of a champion sprinting mare Auxiliary was strongly backed to win ahead of Caledonia. The latter appeared to have been over prepared for the race as she seemed to have lost her zest and ran a poor race. Agni led from the start and was not under threat by any of the runners. Born Greek who was racing detached last, gained ground in the straight to eventually finish second ahead of Red Snaper. Caledonia was a poor fourth.

Laxman Singh trained Big Brave was well backed to win the 1200 metres Angler Plate (Div I), a race for horses rated 26 to 46 and the favourite readily justified the expectation. Big Brave shot ahead on turning for home and was comfortably ahead when the well-fancied Ulysses was set alight by jockey Akshay Kumar. The latter made a desperate attempt, but Big Brave was comfortably home. Lockhart was third. The lower division of the race saw Hilton Sequeira trained Amazing Elegance show tremendous improvement when trouncing the opposition. Excellent Hope was expected to be a worthy challenger, but the fancied runner plodded home to be a poor third. Amazing Elegance left the field stranded inside the final 250 metres to win by a widening margin of seven lengths over That`s My Magic. The quality of win recorded by Amazing Elegance suggests that she will swiftly move up in the handicap scales.

Sequeira consolidated his hold on the trainers` championship stakes when his ward Nimble Mind trounced the opposition in the 2400 metres Nawab Arshad Ali Khan Memorial Plate, a race for horses rated 42 to 62. Sequeira had many runners in the race including favourite Buttonwood. However, it was lesser fancied Nimble Mind who assumed command in the stretch and left the field standing to win by the race by a margin of seven lengths over stablemate Solar Heights. Raajneeti held off Buttonwood to grab the third place.

Leo D`Silva trained Natasha tackled the runaway leader Red Bullet in the final furlong and sped away from the rest to record an easy win in the Belledancer Plate (Div I), a race for horses rated up to 30, the concluding race of the season. Yogastha ran on to take the second position ahead of Crimson Fire. Kishore trained Running Fire showed urgency at the final bend and immediately began to take control of the race in the straight in the lower division of the race. By the final furlong, the lesser fancied runner had skipped clear. Handsome Duo beat Royal Style to get the second place.


Running Fire (Arshad Alam up) winner of the Belledancer Plate (Div-II)

Big Brave (Neeraj Rawal up) winner of the Angler Plate (Div-I)

Amazing Elegance (Akshay Kumar up) winner of the Angler Plate (Div-II)

Nimble Mind (Nakhat Singh up) winner of the Nawab Arshad Ali Khan Memorial Plate

Agni (Akshay Kumar up) winner of the Dodla Pratap Chander Reddy Memorial Million

Preciosa (Kiran Naidu up) winner of the Raja Pratapa Rudra Memorial Cup

Natasha (C Umesh up) winner of the Belledancer Plate (Div-I)

  Post your comments   E-mail   Print
Total Comments : 0       Be first to add comments to this article !!
Poonawalla Stud Farms - India's leading Thoroughbred Stud Farm
Next Race day on March 27, 2019 - Kolkata Races

Live Results - Delhi (March 26, 2019)
Hazara Stud Farm
The Radiant Bloodstock Private Ltd
Glory of dancer
Disclaimer: The views expressed in Reviews and Analysis depict the personal perspective of the authors only. The website does not subscribe to or endorse any of the same and is not responsible for adverse consequences. Every effort is made to provide accurate information, we are not responsible for any discrepancies that are beyond our control.
© 2008 Racing Pulse. All Rights Reserved. A Racingpulse Holdings Venture