Bangalore |  Mysore |  Mumbai |  Pune |  Hyderabad |  Kolkata |  Delhi  
Indian Classics |  Profiles  |  Fixtures |  Video |  Archives |  Racing Fantasy |  Public Pulse |  In & Around |  Specials |  International |  Home  
Review    Send comment   Send E-mail   Print the page

Iron Age bounces back to winning ways

By: Frankel   April 4 , 2021

After two below-par efforts, Iron Age found the handicap company modest enough to give an assertive performance in the 1000 metres Seth Ramnath Daga Trophy, a race for horses rated 80 and above, the feature event of Sunday`s Mumbai races. Apprentice Kritish Bhagat who rode the winner, excelled in the saddle, booting home two other winners, giving hopes of emerging as a jockey with a bright future.

Iron Age looked invincible in the small field that was in the fray for the feature. His last run might have been disappointing but that effort was good enough to beat the opposition he was taking on. Bhagat who has been impressing in the few winners that he has ridden during the season, did well to dictate a clever pace. Iron Age was never under pressure to check-in by a shade less than two lengths without having to be fully ridden out. Silver Flames ran on from behind to edge out Hidden Gold to get the runner-up berth.

For a jockey of his inexperience, Bhagat rode like an experienced rider on Pesi Shroff trained Rambunctious to guide the lesser fancied runner to a narrow win in a three-horse finish in the 1600 metres Jehangir P Dubash Cup, a race for horses rated 40 to 66. While Rambunctious had the benefit of running in classic races, stablemate Shamshir Sword who had recorded back-to-back wins in handicap races enjoyed strong support in the betting ring. Fleur De Lys went at a fast clip and led by more than six to seven lengths. Unperturbed, Bhagat sat with Rambunctious in the second position followed by Speed Air and Summer Night while Shamshir Sward was at the rear of the field. Fleur De Lys had the lead going into the final furlong but it was clear that Rambunctious, Speed Air and Summer Knight would overwhelm the front-runner as they came up with strong efforts. Bhagat managed to extract a good response from Rambunctious who staved off the strong challenge of Speed Air and Summer Night to record a good win. Bhagat showed a good temperament in his effort.

Pesi Shroff trained Hioctane had been somewhat of a letdown as she had not lived up to the promise and had remained a maiden in her eight outings. Her last run behind Rubik Star was highly promising and it came as no surprise when she was backed down to favouritism ahead of Memorable Moments. The daughter of Kingda Ka readily justified the inspired support. Though apprentice Bhagat kept her way off the pace as Lovely Fairy went on a start to finish mission, Hioctane steadily moved up and showed up on the wide outside as the race picked up steam in the homestretch. Under a strong hand drive by Bhagat, Hioctane bounced clear inside the final 100 metres and had no problem in keeping the challenge of Memorable Moments at bay. Marrakesh retained the third position from the late rallying Adonijah.

Malesh Narredu trained The Awakening had been given the best turned out horse prize for the Poonawalla Breeders` Multi-Million. Though he had finished more than 16 lengths behind the winner, the pace of that race was so fast that he was left behind. Backed to the exclusion of the rest, The Awakening readily obliged, winning by a widening margin of four lengths. The Awakening was not very brisk at the start and was tailed off last till the final turn. Jockey Yash Narredu who was back in the saddle after an injury had kept him out of action for more than two months, then got busy on the favourite who responded well in the final furlong and stormed clear to win in great style. Count of Savoy who was the ante-post favourite managed to nose out Red Merlot in a cluster finish to get the runner up berth. Love Warrior and Emiliana too were finishing strongly at the post.

Lesser fancied Champers On Ice from the stables of trainer Dallas Todywalla led all the way and managed to go past the post ahead of the rest in the 1000 metres J Rustomji Soparivala Trophy, a race for maiden three-year-olds. Jockey Amit had Champers On Ice lead all the way and had enough cushion when Galloping Glory began to cover good ground in the final furlong. Favourite Marvellous who warmed up late to the task finished on purposefully on the widest and managed to pinch the third place.

After five failed efforts at Bangalore, Perfect Perfecto had been relocated to Mumbai and had joined the stables of Subhag Singh. Perfect Perfecto brought off an upset with a comfortable start to finish mission in the 1200 metres Flareon Plate (Div I), a race for horses in the lowest category. Stick To The Plan gave a chase without hope and settled for the second spot ahead of On Va Danser. Adhirajsingh Jodha trained Who Dares Wins pulled off a narrow in the lower division of the race. Who Dares Wins came up with a powerful effort down the final furlong to storm ahead. The winning post came to the rescue of the winner as Gusty Girl closed in with a big rush. Multimoment was third. Favourite Sufiyah who was well placed at the top of the straight disappeared without a fight when the pressure was applied on her to quicken.

In a three-horse absorbing finish, long shot Jetfire managed to beat Our Sauvage and Judy Blue Eyes by a whisker to win the 1200 metres R R Komandur Plate, a race for horses rated 20 to 46. Our Sauvage who shot ahead in the final furlong was under pressure close to home when Jetfire and Judy Blue Eyes closed with powerful efforts and eventually went down to Jetfire who prevailed by a whisker.


Who Dares Wins (Nirmal Jodha up) winner of the Flareon Plate (Div-II)

Hioctane (Kirtish Bhagat up) winner of the Dr A H Sayed Plate

Iron Age (Kirtish Bhagat up) winner of the Seth Ramnath Daga Trophy

Rambunctious (Kirtish Bhagat up) winner of the Jehangir P Dubash Cup

The Awakening (Yash Narredu up) winner of the R J Kolah Trophy

Champers On Ice (S A Amit up) winner of the J Rustomji Soparivala Trophy

Perfect Perfecto (D R Shubham up) winner of the Flareon Plate (Div-I)

Jetfire (Prashant P Dhebe up) winner of the R R Komandur Plate

  Post your comments   E-mail   Print
Total Comments : 0       Be first to add comments to this article !!

Live Results - Bangalore , January 26, 2022
Disclaimer: The views expressed in Reviews and Analysis depict the personal perspective of the authors only. The website does not subscribe to or endorse any of the same and is not responsible for adverse consequences. Every effort is made to provide accurate information, we are not responsible for any discrepancies that are beyond our control.
© 2008 Racing Pulse. All Rights Reserved. A Racingpulse Holdings Venture